Day 10, Acostumbrarme

Buenas, amigos.  I’ve now been in Medellín for a solid ten days.  It’s safe to say I know the city fairly well.

Some highlights:

-Went to a museum dedicated to the victims of Colombia’s prolonged conflicts

-Went through the daunting process of registering for the city’s free bike share

-Used the city’s free bike share, and loved it

20160208_162636
The reward for biking up Cerro Nutibara

-Got a 5-day ban from the city’s free bike share, on my first day

-Hit the movies (The Big Short, with Spanish subtitles, it was good)

-Had random ladies on the metro swoon over my “ojos tan lindos”

-Witnessed a number of hilariously incoherent and vulgar t-shirts, in English, whose text I will not reproduce here

-Tried (and failed) to avoid as much US election news as possible

-Went to a top-notch planetarium

-Started using Uber

-Watched the Super Bowl, in Spanish, with boring, regular commercials

-Already got flaked by a Colombian girl (the lawyer from the plane)

20160210_172015
Mija will never flake me

-Realized, too late, that you actually have to remove the (plastic) casing from sausages here prior to consumption

If you were to ask me ¿cómo van las cosas?, I would say that things are going quite well.  Today and yesterday I handed out flyers for English conversation practice at two universities.  Something very telling about the culture here, is that EVERYONE said “thank you” when I handed out my paper.  Only one person of ~200 didn’t take one.  It goes to show that the culture here, especially with respect to strangers, is very, very different.  I don’t think I’ve ever thanked anyone for passing me a flyer.  Ever.  And they hadn’t even read it yet!  What if I were advertising hitman services?  I’d still get the “gracciass” and respond “con guusto.”

I will end today’s post with this delightful public service announcement from Administration.  It kindly alerts us to the devastating effects of eating while working.

20160203_153531
“Look at the effects of eating while working…Digestive problems result from not chewing well…Also the food is not enjoyed”

Leave a comment